has left me pondering

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:04
ThreadID: 37611 Views:2873 Replies:12 FollowUps:25
I asked a question about bead breakers the other day and got some very useful info but it now has me pondering if I need them.

If I have tubeless tyres the only time I should need to break the bead is if I need to repair the side wall with a patch yes/no ?

or put a tube in as a last resort yes/no ?

and I for this I will need tyre iron to refit the tyre on the rim along with bead breaker yes/no ?

lastly why is it that you can not put a tube in a tubeless tyre ?

thanks
Jas

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:12

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:12
Of course you can put a tube in a tubeless , won't do any harm but take it out soon as you get to where it can be repaired , 2 a highlift jack makes a good bead breaker too , I don't own one , they are fantastic jaw breakers, I've seen what they're like when they get out of control [air jack is safer ]

AnswerID: 193867

Follow Up By: handy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 07:27

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 07:27
a high lift used properly shouldnt cause a drama.
a mate used a new bushranger air jack and it blew up on him first go lifting a 2wheel drive lux. cheers
FollowupID: 451790

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:27

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:27
Handy
I would like to believe that all tools and equipment used properly will or should cause no drama,Humans will be humans and as for the air jack bursting , are you 100% sure your ....mate was using it properly anything that contains compressed air if over inflated will burst,

Doug

FollowupID: 451797

Follow Up By: handy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:47

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:47
yeah i was there when it happened, it was used exactly how it should.
fault in the rubber, got it replaced no prob.
i wouldnt like to be in a situation where i had to rely on one.
give me a original hi lift anyday. cheers
FollowupID: 451800

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:13

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:13
Yeh, Wazzas still shaking..Hey Andy
Ive never had a problem with a high lift.
FollowupID: 451816

Follow Up By: handy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:24

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:24
yeah it cleared the ear drums out . cheers
FollowupID: 451817

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:14

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:14
The only time you should need to break the bead on a tubeless is if you have done major damage to it and need to remove it to place a large gator or patch and probably a tube as well as a stopgap measure to get you home. Even sidewall flattys can be done by worms i currently have 4 worms in one sidewall gash and had 1 in the other side until it developed a slow leak a few months later so i had it fixed.
You certainly can put a tube in a tubeless tyre but you wouldnt bother unless you had to.
I carry tyrpliers, 2 tyre levers,a big selection of patches (for the splittys) and worms for the radials. i have only ever used the worms and never needed the tyrepliers.
But i will be darn glad to have the equipment should the need arise
AnswerID: 193868

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:19

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:19
Q..............If I have tubeless tyres the only time I should need to break the bead is if I need to repair the side wall with a patch yes/no

A........YES

Q..............or put a tube in as a last resort yes/no ?

A..........YES

Q..........and I for this I will need tyre iron to refit the tyre on the rim along with bead breaker yes/no

A...........You will need a R&R Beadbreaker or equivalent. Go to www.randrbreadbreaker.com

Q........lastly why is it that you can not put a tube in a tubeless tyre ?

A........You CAN put tube in tubeless tyre

NOTE You can also plug holes in side or tread of tubeless tyres without the need of removing them from the rims. Buy a plug kit

Hope this helps you.
AnswerID: 193870

Follow Up By: troopyman - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:44

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 20:44
Y_E_A_H WOT HE SAID AWRIGHT. (say in a bold english accent)
FollowupID: 451749

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:15

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:15
Willem....I say....you don't suppose Troopyman is having a shot at you old chap

Ow ya goin mate
I'll be out on a job for 3 days from tomorrow escorting Grain Stackers up near the Wongan Hills WA, So old mate can you keep an eye on all these other Members in my absence.

Doug and the little fella

FollowupID: 451777

Follow Up By: troopyman - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:13

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:13
I am not having a go . I am emphasising that willem is absolutely correct as usual .cheers
FollowupID: 451793

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:22

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:22
troopyman
Joke mate ...can't you see a joke when it happens ...Old chap

FollowupID: 451796

Follow Up By: troopyman - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:23

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:23
sorry my bad
FollowupID: 451805

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:25

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 10:25
As usual?

FollowupID: 452943

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:34

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:34
Good to see a simple message about tyre plugs is getting through!! Plugging has been my preferred method for the past 7 years, since I went on a 16 vehicle charity tagalong, and the leader fixed almost every puncture with Tech brand plugs - he was so quick at it that others in the convoy had no idea that someone had had a puncture.

But all plugs are not created equal! The shorter thicker ones are usually better, and you need to use tyre glue inside the hole as well as on the plug before inserting it. The best brand I've found are still the "Tech" brand plugs. They are hard to find - might even have to get a tyre dealer to order them in from the distributor - Beissbarth. Each plug is individually wrapped so they don't dry out, so you can hang onto them for many years.

But theres a knack to inserting them. When you get a puncture, first thing is to get the pump out and put more air into the tyre, to identify the puncture. You also will find plugging works best with air inthe tyre. If its a slow leak, and you can't find the leak, get a spray bottle with a few drops of detergent in the water, and spray around until you find the bubbles. You may need to roll the vehicle forward to find the hole or to get it into a good position to plug it. Then apply glue to the inside of the hole - don't worry about the air escaping - you use this tool to have a feel, and find out the direction of the hole. Then load up the plug onto the split insertion tool - apply glue to the plug, and insert, making sure you follow the direction of the hole. Insert very slowly, and use your finger to prevent accidentally putting it all the way in. Leave about 1-2cm hanging out. Give it a minute while you put more air into the tyre, then spray with the soapy water to see if the leak is fixed. If not a second or third plug may be needed. In my experience, and using decent plugs and glue, this is not often required. Then pack up and go.

So in answer to your original question, I think beadbreakers are a waste of money. Punctures are largely preventable. Take 2 spares in remote areas, as you still may destroy a complete tyre. Use a jack or highliftjack as your beadbreaker if you were unlucky enough to get a big split. Then you only need to lever the outside bead over the rim to get access for the patch. Taking off the whole tyre is what scratches up the rim.

Anyway, enough rambling......................

phil
AnswerID: 193887

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:24

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:24
Phil,

Thanks for the tip about inflating the tyre. Have not had issues with the plugs, but will try your tip next time. 'Course, now I have new tyres, aren't getting any punctures (thank heavens).

Follwing on from your guidelines, I have found that a significantly sharp blade is required to cut the end of the plug off - this saves it being worked loose via an in- appropriate see-saw-ing/cutting action.

I carry a large assortment of patches for tyre carcass repairs, gaiters, splits, stakes..., as well as for fixing tubes. This gear fits neatly into a tub with lid (105 mm h x 205 w x 275 l), which resides in the rear drawer along with a small tarp to lie on, tyre pliers kit, and heavy duty wheel cross-brace.

In this tub I have spare tits, plugs (inserted from inside tubeless tyres to repair holes; they have a metal stem with which to pull them tight from the exterior. Yes, you have to break the bead. Sorry, dunno the name of them), valves, chalk, valve tools, spare inflation gauge, vulcanising solution, cement, patch roller, roughening tool, the ubiquitous repair plugs you mention, wheel studs for front & rear hubs (they are different), and heaps of the professional style pink bead lube in an old peanut butter jar .

Regarding these supplies, I tried a few tyre dealers/retailers on the eastern side of Adelaide. They live hand to mouth with supplies, so would not sell me much that was useful for building the kit.

Finally, I tracked Rema Tip Top down at Churchill Rd, near Grand Junction Rd. From them I was able to get that blue BL cement in a 40 gm tin (far better than those piddly tubes of cement), with applicator brush, and most other requisites.

Hope this helps others.........

C ya in the scrub
FollowupID: 451774

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:26

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:26
Hi Rick,

Yeah, now you've got the MTRs, all this stuff is theoretical :-))
I don't cut off the extra plug until the next day or so, and use scissors for the same reason you gave.

Do you really carry "spare tits"??? :-)))
Mushroom plugs are the other ones you take.

I know what you mean about tyre dealers not selling the good stuff. A mate did a bulk purchase of the Tech stuff through his business this year. The blue Rema cement works well with plugs too.

FollowupID: 451778

Follow Up By: Groove - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:21

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:21
A word of warning about plugging.
Firstly I recon they are great and work very well. However the first time I used my cheapo plugging kit the plastic handle broke off and rear end of the metal shaft dug firmly into my hand. I swore very loudly.

Then I bought a decently made kit all metal etc and never looked back. Have used it many times on my own and other vehicles.

Once again, poor man pays twices.

FollowupID: 451803

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:42

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:42
spare tits? hope they're not the old dow corning jobbies or you'll wish you'd kept abreast of their history.
FollowupID: 451810

Reply By: spinifex - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:53

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:53
Hi Jas

The trouble with carrying all the bead breaking gear is that it is fairly well useless to you unless there is someone around that knows how to use it. Repairing tyres in the bush isn’t easy and can be dangerous.

String plugs on the other hand are great, any novice can read the instruction on the back of the box and whack one in.

For most trekkers an extra spare tyre, a string plug kit and a cheapo compressor will get you out of all but the nastiest situations tyre wise.

Spinifex
AnswerID: 193892

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:10

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:10
I'd disagree slightly, I'd say an extra spare tyre, a plug kit and a good quality compressor will get you out of tricky situations.

A cheapo compressor failing at the wrong moment could leave you in a very nasty situation.

FollowupID: 451771

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:27

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:27
I agree 100% with Dave about the compressor. But I do carry a hand pump as a spare if travelling alone.
AnswerID: 193911

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:35

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:35
I don't carry bead breakers, I refer to run over the tyre to break the bead. I also don't us high-lift jacks anymore- most modern 4b's have nowhere to lift from anyway. So that save a fair bit of weight :-)

I do carry two tyre levers, and rubber mallet and numerous patches and bits. I do carry string plugs but rarely use them unless as a last resort. I do agree that they are good becasue any mug can use them. My personal preference is for all vehicles to have two spares, so I just put one spare on, and at the next stop I remove the tyre and place a mushroom plug in it if suitable, otherwise I patch and tube.

In the event of a second flat, I'd have to string plug or repair on the spot. In that case I do them both at once.

I second the opinion that it isn't much use having the gear if you haven't done it before. Changng tyres in the bush is pretty easy (though hard work) for the experienced possibly a nightmare if you aren't.

AnswerID: 193912

Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:28

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:28
G'day David
With respect to those mushroom plugs, if they are what I think they are, I was told by a guy in the trade that to get the long "tail" through the tyre you first have to drill out the hole. Further he said that a normal drill bit wouldn't work and that a special diamond drill bit was required. I baulked at the $80 cost and stuck with patches and glue. Do you have any special tricks/tips re using the mushroom plugs?
Cheers from the Moose.
FollowupID: 451856

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:58

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:58
No such tool needed. The trick is to take the tool used for your string plugs, you know the one that looks like a drill with a T handle. Push it through the hole made by whatever it is that punctured your tyre, but the key is to push it from the inside to out, the same direction as the plug will go. Then rough up the surface where the plug will go, wash with metho, add some vulcanising fluid (glue) let it dry to touch, then add another layer to tyre and plug then simply feed the brass tail through and pull up tight. Stich with the stiching wheel (roller) and refit trye and inflate. Job done.
FollowupID: 451901

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:18

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 08:18
Hi Jas

A lot of these posts are a bit academic unless you have
really been into some of the situations, and then you
appreciate tools that are suitable for the job.

Gee I even had to use my beadbreaker last week. It appears
that after coming down a rocky track section a sharp rock
put a slice into the tubeless valve. Didn't know till
back and camp and washing a bit of muddy off I hear this hissing
after brushing my hand against valve stem. Lot of people don't think
about, carry, or have ever replaced this vital $2 part.
The homemade tyrepliers quickly gave me access and a solution.

Last Xmas 4wding we broke bead and cleaned out a tyre that friend
had hit log in dirt with which caused grass dirt to get under the
bead and cause slow leak , and few days later repaired a 50mm straight
tear with a bit of mudflap material and lots of shoo goo as an emergency fix.

You know you can often get by with less effective methods like jacking off
or running over a wheel (if it does not twist up and hit you as I've seen)
but I only used 2 of the sockets in my tool set this weekend while bush.

But I'm not going to leave the rest at home because I can get most
nuts off with my multigrips !

The tyrepliers, backed up by the reseating power of an air transfer hose is simple
and effective tools for many jobs.

Don't leave home without one !

AnswerID: 193929

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:30

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:30
Glad somebody mentioned the valve stem and valve tool.

And who says you have to be out in the ruff stuff to tear one? I was coming down the expressway into Brisbane, came into some slow traffic and put the window down for some fresh air. I heard the unmistakeable sound of air leaking from a tyre so pulled over to check it out. we had had 9 punctures in the 7 weeks before this so the young bloke grabbed the plug kit, he was only 7 at the time.

"No use mate" I said "I can't plug the valve stem"

I fixed it in the mother in law's driveway. Dropped the R&R in place wound it down and used some needle nose pliers to pull the damaged stem out pushed the new one in and wound the R&R off, bit of air from the ARB compressor and Bob's your uncle.

FollowupID: 451891

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:31

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:31
Ive carried bead breakers for years, used them to get myself and others out of the sh#t plenty of times. All the tools you've all been talking about have their time and place, depends on who you are were you go what sort of tyres you use and who you go with.
AnswerID: 193950

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:45

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:45
G'day Jas,

You've gotten good advice here and I also reckon it pays to be independant when travelling so I take the lot, including a couple of tubes and some new valve stems. Remeber to take the tool to take out valves as well. See,

and note that we replaced this tyre with a spare case when we arrived at Kalumburu. It is hard work and well worth experiencing in a relaxed atmosphere to appreciate that it can be done. In our situation I did have another spare but while your shooting the breeze do the repair and you end up with 2 spares for your next leg.

AnswerID: 193971

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:59

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:59
And a close up,

NB trolly jack another useful tool!
FollowupID: 451861

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:42
An alternative to carrying beadbrakers and the like is to just use a small bottle jack(or the jack that comes with the bloody car!) and two light weight tyre levers, you can easily break the bead with a small block of wood and the jack using the the tow bar,the bull bar, steel side steps etc to push off, but hey then no-one would buy bead breaker kits,would they?
AnswerID: 194416

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:37

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 08:37
But the advantage of the R&R beadbreakers is that they assist removing the tyre and replacing the tyre without the banging with the mallet.

Tim
FollowupID: 452443

Follow Up By: Grandpa joe - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:39

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:39
Hey Tim,
I don't know about you, but i have never needed to bang the crap out of a tyre to get it on or off. every tyre I have put back on I was able to do so with a little detergent out of the camp kit and water and treading it back on with my feet standing on the sucker............ maybe a bit of practise has a little to do with it, Or maybe everyone that has had something to say on this thread sells them from their business!
FollowupID: 452549

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 01:14

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 01:14
Good luck to you then.
Sure practice would help. Fortunately for me, I've not needed to have practice. You're making a bit of a cheap shot at those of us who are just telling others what we have bought.

There's a wide range of people using the forum those with years of real experience and those just starting. I bought my R&R because I was anxious about having a problem I couldn't fix myself, partly added to by the stories on this site, and my sense of responsibility to keep my family safe on our travels. I had bad memories of changing a 13" tyre years and years ago the ease the R&R seemed to work appealed to me - along with the info from this site.

Changing a tyre is something I hope I never have to do, but if I need to I know I can - and that's what matters to me. Then I'll get experienced.

Tim
FollowupID: 452655

Follow Up By: Grandpa joe - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:53

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 18:53
Tim,
No cheap shots intended whatsoever, The kits available are great for people who haven't had the luck of being shown how to change tyres by hand. The problem being (I presume) that "learn to" workshop days at 4wd accessory shops will show how easy it is to do it with "their" product when they could have just as easily shown the correct way to do it by hand. With the accessory market you have to ask, was it the bead breaker kit that put the icing on the cake weight wise that made the tyre blow, or the spare axle.

4wd clubs need to work together in getting the knowledge out there before some one dies from being in a seemingly hopeless predicament. Oh..Tim, I think the info available on this site is great too! and shared experience is sometimes priceless.
wish I lived in WA ya lucky bugger!
" remember the aerogaurd " and .... . .... ....... !
FollowupID: 452780

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:59

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:59
Fair point re the clubs. Never been inclined to join one really, but not knocking them. Also not inclined to pay to go on a training day, but I bet they're good.

Just this afternoon I've started the very first batch of long service leave in my life and will spend a week of it with a couple of my cousins retracing the steps of our grandparents out east of Norseman in that big blank area of the map. Should be fun.

Tim
FollowupID: 452796

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:46

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:46
!MPG:4! If I can do it in 40 degree heat I am sure others can!
AnswerID: 194561